2008 = baller

2008 will be a fab year, I predict, especially for the following reasons:

  • Graduation: Receiving my diploma (whatever) and moving on (WOO HOO). I love my school but I’m more than ready to move on. I’m done with it. I’m not done with my education, but I’m done with the bullshit. I’m done with a small school, I’m done with the drama, I’m just done and ready to move out today. May 10th is 127 days away. And while I’m not trying to wish away my life, I’m just done.
  • Post-graduation: Fingers crossed for law school. If that doesn’t work, maybe I’ll go for my Master’s in Public Policy or IR. We’ll have to see, but I’m far from done with my formal education. Alternate plan: work on the Hill and study for the Foreign Service Exam, pass the first try and be the best FSO ever. Or something. At least the most ridiculous (and fabulous). Obv.
  • Election: The next president has arguably the most difficult and important role to play in US affairs abroad that is more precarious than it has been in a long time: clarifying interests and priorities in the WOT, changing relations with allies, obviously making a decision about Iraq, among other issues, domestic as well. This country has grown tired of GW, it’ll be a long road ’til November.

edit, july 2010: i’m not changing this post, but keeping it to remind myself how precious the present is. what i thought i wanted more than anything ended up much being much different than i expected. graduating was unbelievably difficult emotionally. i got into law school and cannot imagine my life without it. whereas the war on terror and IR were the most important things in my life, now the law is my life. regardless, wishing away the present is one of the worst things to do. i can’t say i’ve yet fully learned my lesson, but hopefully someday i will figure it out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

