foxfield

tomorrow is the spring race at foxfield! a great time in virginia – steeplechasing, tailgating, and cute dresses and hats. in a previous life [read: undergrad] we would be gearing up to head for day drinking, people watching, and a fabulous time. now i get to study for exams almost exclusively. graduating was a terrible life choice.

if i went this year, this would be the outfit de jour:

the duck boots are because it rains every.single.year. without fail. i always giggle at the girls who ruin their heels. hello you’re at a steeplechase – a grassy field in the middle of virginia. wear something sensible.

instead i’ll be here studying. and listening to my new favorite song of the week:

eli young band’s guinevere.

i’m totally loving the lyrics: for as much as she stumbles she’s running, for as much as she runs she’s still here

are you up to anything fun this weekend? allow me to live vicariously through you!

10 Comments

Filed under prep

10 responses to “foxfield

  1. I LOVE Eli Young Band!! No one else ever knows them.

  2. Love this post Miss Firecracker, that is a great Polyvore! And it’s funny you picked those lyrics, I downloaded that last week, just love-love-love it!

    Hope your studying goes well this weekend!
    tp

  3. Sigh. I’ll be in the office, working and then at home cleaning and watching carnivale. It’s supposed to rain here and since I just dropped a boatload of money on a new car, I can’t go spend money shopping. Tear.

  4. I’m sorry you were stuck studying 😦

    I can’t decide if I love or hate those shoes…though the entire outfit is adorable.

    But I do love me some Eli Young Band!

  5. OK, it’s SO funny that mention the girls who ruin their heels every year — I JUST posted on the actual polyvore (before reading the blog) that I’m so impressed that you’d wear the rubber mocs. I’m still in search of the perfect shoe, and I ALWAYS pick a dumb choice. And you’re right — it always rains at VA steeplechases! I’m HOPING to stay dry at Gold Cup on Saturday.

    Good luck with your studying.

    XoXo.

  6. I totally want that hat! 😉

  7. Chrissy

    Oh Foxfields!!!

    Thought this would be right up your alley!
    https://kieljamespatrick.com/

  8. I’m jealous, I’ve always wanted to see a steeplechase! But like you, this weekend I’ll be locked in the library/my office studying for law finals. boo.

  9. you know you’ve been in New England too long when your LL Bean shoes/boots become the right footwear… 3 years up there for law school and it was a hard habit to break not wearing my bean boots to court… and everywhere else.

  10. Boo exams but have fun at foxfield!

Leave a Reply

