halp!

in november, i’m going to a conference with lots of great people. people i intellectually idolize, men i’m lusting after, big name lawyers/politico types. naturally, i’m planning now. to say i’m really excited is an understatement. one night is a black-tie optional gala/dinner. and while i am obscenely excited, i’m at a loss for what to wear. it’s imperative that i look good (a former flame of mine will be there). and when i say i want to look good, i mean really good; perhaps even a jaw drop. this is high stakes, people.

as much as i want to look hot (with cleav up to here) i also want to look appropriate. i don’t want to be that girl in a cocktail dress when i was supposed to wear a gown and kidskin opera gloves. i understand how to do black-tie, i know cocktail attire, but black-tie optional? yeesh. ambiguity begets nothing but trouble. hear my roar, event planners.

with that said, i’m on the prowl for a new dress. i’ve been scouring my usual places, and keep coming back to these two. but i simply cannot decide between them, which is where you guys come in. so please, play barbie and help dress me. if you don’t like either or think i should wear a full gown, click on other in the poll and leave a comment.

the bow monde (in this color):

the taryn (though i’d probably get it in the navy):

thoughts, dear, sweet, kind, fashionable friends?

thanks, peaches. 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “halp!

  1. Jamie

    For what it’s worth, I think they’re both great. I try to wear things that are flattering but appropriate for MW’s stuff (I don’t have any super cool politico/legalista conferences as a lowly 1L). It’s also nice that they are modern but NOT TRENDY. Well done, I say 🙂

  2. They are both gorgeous!!! I would go with whichever one is most figure-flattering, or alternately which one you thought you could get more wear out of (which I think is probably the second one because of the fabric, I could see it under a black blazer with the sleeves cuffed up?), whereas the taffeta on the first is very wedding/party-ish. Have fun shopping!

  3. Lindsey

    Yikes, I hate events where their is no real clear cut dress code. The Taryn dress I think could easily go both ways in regards to more casual or a bit more dressy. Good luck, let us know what you end up choosing!

  4. jamie: thanks! and keep your eyes open – my conference is with an organization i’ve poured myself into at school. it’s in DC!

    brittany: thanks girl! the blazer and sleeves is such a bright idea! i’m such a fashion failure, i’d never think of that!

    lindsey: thanks girl! dress code ambiguity drives me bonkers.

  5. I’m attending a black-tie optional gala on Wednesday! I’ll let you know what I see.

Leave a Reply

