2012 challenge

hello world! i know everyone is sick of the resolution posts, but this isn’t really that. stick with me (or not).

my 2012 goal/resolution is to change my habits one at a time. i’ll give myself one habit to change each month–any more than that is too daunting–and focus on that one habit each month. i’m hoping that in doing this, i’ll end the year with several habits that have stuck and change myself for the better. i’m not worried if i don’t make all 12 at the end of the year, but there are several things i would very much like to continue focusing on. i got this idea from zen habits and think it’s really fantastic–a manageable way to tackle life changes.

for january my habit is to get active: i want to sweat every day this month. i started running in november and even started a fitness blog about it (i don’t want to turn this space into a fitness blog) and i’m in a much better place physically than i was then. however, my focus this month isn’t to lose weight (i’ve lost nary a pound since i’ve started running), but to just get my heart pumping. running three days a week, wii fit/stationary biking/rowing machine the other days (i don’t have the funds or desire to join a gym right now). i used to be very active, law school killed that, and now it’s (past) time to reverse course.

so here we go.

6 Comments

Filed under 2012 challenge, life

6 responses to “2012 challenge

  1. I like the idea of monthly goals. Hopefully by December you will still be doing all of the prior month’s goals too!!

  2. Good luck! You can do it! One goal at a time is a good plan. 🙂

  3. how are you making out with that goal? i think it’s a great one. i’m failing miserably with it myself since i haven’t worked out since running my first 5k on new years day… :p

  4. Thanks for the comment, I will probably going for the iPod Nano also

    cheers

Leave a Reply

