Daily Archives: December 21, 2009

up in the air

i purchased up in the air friday at 5:45am in the airport. a $7.99 paperback impulse purchase.

i expected it to entertain me for a few hours. i expected it to provide me with a bit of an intellectual break after hellish exams. i expected it to even make me giggle once or twice. but what did i not expect? for it to take my breath away.

it’s remarkable, funny, terrifyingly analogous. walter kirn, an author whose work is new to me, created a masterpiece, which i anticipate reading over and over again along my path of self-actualization.

adjectives from the mediocre amazon reviews include: fragmented, wandering, sardonic, wry. it is all of these and more. it’s not for everyone, but to me, it was one of the rare books to permeate.

this is a verse from walt whitman’s “song of the open road.” it starts the book and serves as an apt description of the main character. rings true with me, as well.

you but arrive at the city to which you were destin’d,

you hardly settle yourself to satisfaction,

before you are call’d by an irresistible call to depart

1 Comment

Filed under reviews

vineyard vines!

hey ya’ll,

if you’re like me, you love vineyard vines. in fact, my whole family loves it – my dad frequently steals my catalog to buy men’s stuff for him.

it’s great. wanted to let you know about a giveaway for the vineyard vine’s women capeside cardigan over at the glamazon diaries. super easy to enter and you can win this adorable sweater! wouldn’t that look super cute with a corduroy skirt and rainbows?

Leave a comment

Filed under prep